This stop is intended to serve the Royal Bank of Scotland headquarters at Gogarburn.
In 2002 work commenced on the new headquarters of the Royal Bank of Scotland in a 78 acre site, which is on the other side of the A8 reached by a new bridge. The old Gogarburn Asylum, described at the time of its opening as a “home for Mental Defectives”, can be seen on the right when travelling over the new Royal Bank bridge towards the main building.
The Gogar burn is crossed after leaving this tram stop when heading towards the Park & Ride at Ingliston. The burn eventually discharges into the River Almond before reaching the Forth at Cramond.
There are several standing stones and hill fort sites of ancient origin in the vicinity. Gogar was the site of a medieval village, Nether Gogar, which has long since disappeared. The name of Gogar first appears on a map in 1233. It may come from the Scottish term "cog" or "gowk" which was a cuckoo, a bird with known ritual significance in ancient times.
The small Gogar Kirk (church) still stands as a reminder of the village it once served. The Kirk dates from the 12th century; while the present building was mostly rebuilt in the late 19th century the 16th century south transept is still in existence. The tram stop is beside the old Gogar Kirk. The line needed to be designed to avoid this "A Listed" building.
The church was no longer in use by 1902 and today it is currently used as a cabinet-maker's workshop.
Royal Bank of Scotland http://www.rbsinternational.com/global/f/about-us.ashx
Please click on any image to view it at a larger scale. You will then be able to navigate forwards and backwards between photos or see them as a slide show.
Copyright 2013 -17 www.edinburghtrams.info
All rights reserved.
All photographic images and text are Copyright Chris O'Brien. Moral right are asserted